top of page
Zoeken
  • klarasegers

You don't like languages? Same, but here are 3 tips to learn them in a fun or easy way



Since the day I was born I felt like languages were not my favorite thing to learn. I look at my sister, who speaks 6 languages fluently without any trouble and I look at myself and I see someone who already struggles with writing one English blogpost. But I still do it, I do write the blogpost. So what are my tips to train your languages in a fun and easy way?



1. Watch Harry Potter

When I was 15 years old I lived in Portugal for half a year. All alone without my family and friends. It was one of the best experiences in my life but… I could not speak any f*cking word Portuguese. It was a disaster to go to school or even the supermarket. So one day, I wanted to watch Harry Potter with my host sister and when the movie starts I notice it is in Portuguese. And although it’s weird I could understand some words. Just because I already knew the story and the characters. From that moment on we watched every Harry Potter movie in English and I swear it helped me with understanding Portuguese.



My and my Portuguese class


2. Read books

I love the read English books. Definitely when it is the original language of the book. Everything makes more sense and everything is 10 times more beautiful or emotional when you read something in the original language. In my case, I also learn a lot from reading beautiful books. My favorite? Hmmm… I think Normal People.


3. Just do it

Yes, Nike would be very proud I use their slogan. But I do not want to support the sport. I just believe if you just try (and probably fail) to speak a language, you always do the good thing. People appreciate it so much if you just try, even if you make mistakes. And believe me, making mistakes is a good thing. You learn from it!

8 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven
bottom of page